The Chicagoist will be launching later but in the meantime please enjoy our archives.

New DUI Law

By Margaret Lyons in News on Jun 24, 2008 5:15PM

Illinois is joining five other states with first-offense mandatory ignition-lock breathalyzers starting January 1. Currently, Illinois drivers who are repeat DUI offenders who want to drive with a suspended suspended license can have the locks installed, and about 3,000 have. The locks cost $150 to install and around $100 a month thereafter, all of which is paid for by the drunk driver. According to a spokeswoman for Illinois MADD, the dashboard devices are "90 percent effective in reducing repeat offenses." [S-T, Total DUI]