The Chicagoist will be launching later but in the meantime please enjoy our archives.

CPS To Close 16 Schools

By Marcus Gilmer in News on Feb 26, 2009 12:00AM

Photo by The New No. 2
Today the Chicago Public School Board voted unanimously to close, phase out, and consolidate 16 schools a day after CPS head Ron Huberman chose to spare six schools.

The schools affected are:

Closing (students will be reassigned to neighborhood schools)

  • Nia.
  • Foundations.
  • Princeton.
  • South Chicago.


  • Abbott: Merged into Hendricks.
  • Davis Developmental Center: Merged with Langston Hughes in a new building.
  • Medill: Merged into Smyth.
  • Schiller: Merged into Jenner.

Phasing Out

  • Best Practice High School.
  • Carpenter.
  • Lathrop: Students will go to Johnson and Lawndale.
  • Reed: Students will go to Banneker, Parker and Nicholson.

Turning Around (staff to be replaced)

  • Bethune.
  • Dulles.
  • Fenger High School.
  • Johnson.