The Chicagoist will be launching later but in the meantime please enjoy our archives.

Planet Mu To Release Chicago Juke/Footwork Compilation

By Jake Guidry in Arts & Entertainment on Oct 7, 2010 9:40PM

Photo via XLR8R
As music trends begin to shift, Chicago's own sounds are seeing more and more popularity worldwide. While juke and footwork music have always been scenes deeply ingrained in the south side culture over the last 20-plus years, international labels are taking note and pushing the styles and their producers to a higher level of consumption and acceptance. One culprit? UK label Planet Mu, who have a full slate of releases from some of the scene's premier people, including Chicago's own DJ Rashad and DJ Nate.

What's next for Planet Mu and the footwork/juke scene is a huge compilation dedicated to Chicago's sound, featuring 25 tracks from everyone including DJ Killa E, Traxman, DJ Spinn and DJ Nate. Titled Bangs & Works Vol. 1, the compilation will be released December 6. Check below for full tracklist.

1. DJ Elmoe - Whea Yo Ghost At, Whea Yo Dead Man
2. DJ Rashad - Teknitian
3. Tha Pope - Jungle Juke
4. DJ Rashad - Itz Not Rite
5. DJ Roc - Fuck Dat
6. RP Boo - Total Darkness
7. DJ Spinn - 2020
8. Tha Pope - All The Things
9. DJ Killa E - Star Wars
10. DJ Roc - One Blood
11. RP Boo - Eraser
12. DJ Lil Rome & DJ Yung Tellem - Kill Da Circle
13. DJ Trouble - Bangs & Works
14. DJ Trouble - Fuck Um Up Jus Basics
15. DJ Elmoe - Yo Shit Fucked Up
16. DJ Yung Tellem - Freddy Vs Jason
17. DJ Trouble - Mosh Pit
18. Traxman - Compute Funk
19. DJ Lil Rome - I Go Hard
20. DJ Diamond - Ready Mother Fucka
21. DJ Diamond - Freakazoid
22. DJ Nate - Ima Dog
23. DJ Clent - I Love You
24. DJ Nate - He Ain't Bout It
25. Traxman - The Comeback