The Chicagoist will be launching later but in the meantime please enjoy our archives.

Labor Unions Announce City Hall Endorsements, Snub Mayoral Candidates... For Now

By Chuck Sudo in News on Dec 16, 2010 2:30PM

2010_12_16_CFL.gif The Chicago Federation of Labor released its endorsements for the upcoming city elections, and it's more notable as much for who wasn't endorsed as who was.

Let's get to who wasn't. The CFL stopped short of formally announcing a candidate for mayor, but CFL President Jorge Ramirez said that could change as we get closer to the Feb. 22 election. The coalition of over 300 labor unions seemed to favor Gery Chico and Rahm Emanuel over the others, but they did want Emanuel to explain why he once said of the United Autoworkers Union, "Fuck the UAW!", and fears from some in the CFL that Emanuel would favor corporate interests over labor interests, if elected.

Ramirez also said that most of the mayoral candidates interviewed by CFL favored casino expansion in the city and a continuation of the unpaid furlough days CFL agreed upon shortly after city labor unions signed a 10-year agreement with Mayor Daley in 2007 that increased their wages shortly before the economic collapse. “The majority of candidates felt it wasn’t something city workers should have to do again. They said, ‘We understand the city workforce has subjected itself to underemployment,’” Ramirez said. Those furlough concessions expire shortly after the new mayor and City Council takes office.

Here is the CFL's full list of emdorsements.

City Clerk Susana Mendoza

City Treasurer Stephanie Neely

Ward 1 Proco "Joe" Moreno

Ward 2 No Endorsement

Ward 3 Pat Dowell

Ward 4 William "Will" Burns

Ward 5 Leslie Hairston

Ward 6 Freddrenna Lyle

Ward 7 No Endorsement

Ward 8 Michelle A. Harris

Ward 9 Anthony Beale

Ward 10 John Pope

Ward 11 No Endorsement

Ward 12 No Endorsement

Ward 13 Frank Olivo

Ward 14 Ed Burke

Ward 15 Toni Foulkes

Ward 16 JoAnn Thompson

Ward 17 Latasha Thomas

Ward 18 Lona Lane

Ward 19 Matt O'Shea

Ward 20 Willie Cochran

Ward 21 No Endorsement

Ward 22 Ricardo Munoz

Ward 23 Michael Zalewski

Ward 24 No Endorsement

Ward 25 No Endorsement

Ward 26 No Endorsement

Ward 27 Walter Burnett, Jr.

Ward 28 Jason Ervin

Ward 29 Deborah Graham

Ward 30 Ariel Reboyras

Ward 31 Ray Suarez

Ward 32 Scott Waguespack

Ward 33 Richard Mell

Ward 34 Carrie Austin

Ward 35 Rey Colon

Ward 36 John Rice

Ward 37 No Endorsement

Ward 38 Timothy Cullerton

Ward 39 Margaret Laurino

Ward 40 Patrick O'Connor

Ward 41 No Endorsement

Ward 42 Brendan Reilly

Ward 43 Carmen Olmetti

Ward 44 No Endorsement

Ward 45 Marina Faz-Huppert

Ward 46 No Endorsement

Ward 47 Gene Schulter

Ward 48 Harry Osterman

Ward 49 Joe Moore

Ward 50 Debra Silverstein