The Chicagoist will be launching later but in the meantime please enjoy our archives.

Sonic Youth To Release "Smart Bar - Chicago 1985" Live Double LP/DVD

By Jon Graef in Arts & Entertainment on Sep 10, 2012 6:20PM

2012_9_10_sonicyouth.jpg While the status of the band itself is uncertain because of personal reasons, Sonic Youth has at least one upcoming project in the tank, and it's a Chicago-centric one: the release of a double LP/DVD of their 1985 show at Smart Bar.

Set for a Nov. 14 release, the show from Aug. 11, 1985 consists mostly of then-new release Bad Moon Rising (a minor effort from the band, depending on who you ask) and songs from their 1986 effort EVOL. Sonic Youth will release the album, mastered from the original cassette tape from which the show was recorded on their own label, Goofin’ Records.

Here's a tracklist:

Sonic Youth - Smart Bar - Chicago 1985

1- Hallowe’en

2- Death Valley ’69

3- Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)

4- I Love Her All The Time

5- Ghost Bitch

6- I’m Insane

7- Kat ‘N’ Hat

8- Brother James

9- Kill Yr Idols

10- Secret Girl

11- Flower

12- The Burning Spear

13- Expressway To Yr Skull

14- Making The Nature Scene

The album will also feature liner notes from Gerard Cosloy and Sonic Youth engineer Aaron Mullan, as well as photos by Pat Blashill and Steven Koress.

In other tangentially Sonic Youth related news: Steve Shelley is no longer in Disappears, due to scheduling conflicts. Bummer, but, Shelley's label is going to put out a collaboration record that Disappears did with White/Light.

There's always a (White Slash) light at the end of the tunnel.