The Grateful Dead's Final Concerts To Be Broadcast Live In Theaters

By Casey Moffitt in Arts & Entertainment on Apr 16, 2015 6:45PM

2015_1_15_faretheewell.jpg

If you missed out on tickets to see The Grateful Dead at Soldier Field this summer, don't fret. You still have a chance to see the shows live since the band will be broadcasting them in a movie theater near you.

The three Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years of The Grateful Dead shows will be shown live, in their entirety, July 3, 4 and 5 at a number of theaters nationwide. The shows feature the reunion of Bob Weir, Phil Lesh, Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart, who will be joined by Trey Anastasio, Bruce Hornsby and Jeff Chimenti.

The showings will begin at 8 p.m.EDT, 7 p.m. CDT and 6 p.m. PDT. A five-hour block has been set aside for each showing. The band has promised that no two shows will be the same, in true Dead fashion, so if you can handle 15 hours of Grateful Dead tunes, you can get it.

The Dead announced two shows at Levi Stadium in Santa Clara, California on June 27 and 28, although tickets for those shows are already gone.

Tickets for the movie screenings go on sale May 4, but you can sign up for a reminder. Prices have yet to be announced and will be determined by each theater. And there are plenty of theaters participating in the 3-day event.

Also, there is no word if camping or tailgating will be allowed at the individual movie theaters. Boy, we'd hate to be the poor bastard who has field those phone calls and questions.