How To Watch Obama's Landmark Farewell Speech Tonight

By Rachel Cromidas in News on Jan 10, 2017 4:30PM

President Barack Obama is returning to Chicago tonight to give a landmark farewell address as his presidency winds down.

It's too late to score at ticket—not even Chicagoans who lined up as early as 6 a.m. in the cold on Saturday could get in. But the White House will be streaming the occasion online, on the White House website and Youtube. The speech is slated to start at 8 p.m. Central Time (9 p.m. Eastern, 6 p.m. Pacific) from McCormick Place, the Near South Side convention center where Obama held his second term election-night victory rally.

Advisors have said the president's speech will be forward-looking—so don't expect a big re-hashing of his legacy or a a victorious reliving of Grant Park 2008. But the speech will also draw from Obama's personal history as a Chicago community organizer and state senator, with a message urging perseverance in the face of setbacks, according to his speechwriter.