The Chicagoist will be launching later but in the meantime please enjoy our archives.

Big Ten Announces Underwhelming Division Names

By Chuck Sudo in News on Dec 13, 2010 10:00PM


The Big Ten unveiled the names and logos for the new football divisions that will go into effect once Nebraska joins the conference next season. Let's just say the Oprah Winfrey Network logo may have a competitor for sheer "UGH!" Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany said that the names of the divisions — "Legends" and "Leaders" — reflect the past and future of the conference. We'd guess that these logos were designed at the T-Shirt Deli, but that store does pretty damn fine work.

The Big Ten "Legends" include Northwestern, Michigan, Michigan State, Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska. "Legends" must obviously refer to football, if Nebraska's included. The "Leaders" include Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

Delany said they opted for these names because the other names that were bandied about, like "Hayes" and "Schembechler," and "Plains" and Great Lakes," were either not "inclusive enough" (the former pair) or "inaccurate." This just shows how idiotic the Big Ten can be. Naming the football divisions after the two coaches (Ohio State's Woody Hayes and Michigan's Bo Schembechler) is not only inclusive, it's transcendent. It automatically defines the conference.

Plus, it would be nice to see some divisions named after people again, like the old NHL.